The management team for the Center consists of a Director (Steve Ealick), a Deputy Director (Malcolm Capel) and an Associate Director. The Director, in consultation with the Deputy Director and Associate Director, is responsible for setting scientific goals and for establishing technology R&D priorities. The Director is also responsible for raising funds for ongoing development and for operations, and for reporting to the funding agencies. The Deputy Director is responsible for day-to-day operation of the Center and oversees design, construction and maintenance of beamline components. He also participates in technology research and development. The Associate Director is responsible for supervision of the user program, including user and staff scheduling, and participates in technology research and development. The management team receives advice from the Center Advisory Committee (Section G.4.1), the NE-CAT Executive Committee (Section G.4.2), and, when needed, the Technical Advisory Committee (Section G.4.3). NE-CAT is periodically reviewed and receives recommendations from the APS Scientific Advisory Committee (Section G.4.4).

National Institute of Health (NIH)
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Biotechnology Resource Grants (P41)
Project #
Application #
Study Section
Special Emphasis Panel (ZRG1-BCMB-P (40))
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
Cornell University
United States
Zip Code
Poor, Catherine B; Andorfer, Mary C; Lewis, Jared C (2014) Improving the stability and catalyst lifetime of the halogenase RebH by directed evolution. Chembiochem 15:1286-9
Gao, Ang; Serganov, Alexander (2014) Structural insights into recognition of c-di-AMP by the ydaO riboswitch. Nat Chem Biol 10:787-92
Sanches, Mario; Duffy, Nicole M; Talukdar, Manisha et al. (2014) Structure and mechanism of action of the hydroxy-aryl-aldehyde class of IRE1 endoribonuclease inhibitors. Nat Commun 5:4202
Sasaki, Eita; Zhang, Xuan; Sun, He G et al. (2014) Co-opting sulphur-carrier proteins from primary metabolic pathways for 2-thiosugar biosynthesis. Nature 510:427-31
Bolla, Jani Reddy; Su, Chih-Chia; Do, Sylvia V et al. (2014) Crystal structure of the Neisseria gonorrhoeae MtrD inner membrane multidrug efflux pump. PLoS One 9:e97903
Strunk, Robert J; Piemonte, Katrina M; Petersen, Natasha M et al. (2014) Structure determination of BA0150, a putative polysaccharide deacetylase from Bacillus anthracis. Acta Crystallogr F Struct Biol Commun 70:156-9
Brown, Nicholas G; Watson, Edmond R; Weissmann, Florian et al. (2014) Mechanism of polyubiquitination by human anaphase-promoting complex: RING repurposing for ubiquitin chain assembly. Mol Cell 56:246-60
Sui, Xuewu; Kiser, Philip D; Che, Tao et al. (2014) Analysis of carotenoid isomerase activity in a prototypical carotenoid cleavage enzyme, apocarotenoid oxygenase (ACO). J Biol Chem 289:12286-99
Xu, Kai; Wu, Zhuhao; Renier, Nicolas et al. (2014) Neural migration. Structures of netrin-1 bound to two receptors provide insight into its axon guidance mechanism. Science 344:1275-9
Lee, Kwangkook; Zhong, Xiaofen; Gu, Shenyan et al. (2014) Molecular basis for disruption of E-cadherin adhesion by botulinum neurotoxin A complex. Science 344:1405-10

Showing the most recent 10 out of 87 publications