The Immunology Training Program at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) provides advanced research training for Postdoctoral Fellows in areas relevant to modern immunology. The 29 designated Training Faculty, the remaining Faculty of the 52 member Immunology Department, the Faculty of TSRI, and the interactions with the La Jolla immunology community provide a rich, challenging, and highly interactive training environment for Fellows. The goal is to continue the tradition of training highly productive, independent, creative scientists who will make substantial contributions to the field of immunology and related disciplines. Fellows also receive training in the ethics of research, communication skills, grant preparation, and proper use of human subjects and animals in their research. The 29 designated Mentors have a distinguished record of training Fellows, and have research interests that range from basic structural biology to more clinically relevant immunity to infectious agents and autoimmunity. Eleven new Mentors have been added to replace four departing faculty members, and several of the new Training Faculty are MD's to enhance training in translational research. A graduate training program in immunology at TSRI adds a local pool of highly qualified candidates for postdoctoral training. Recruitment of highly qualified minority candidates has been enhanced by active collaboration with a local Minority Access to Research Careers program. The Program proposes to support the training of 8 Postdoctoral Fellows. Both MD and PhD candidates are recruited, with particular attention devoted to the active recruitment of minority candidates. Training is supported for a minimum of two years, with alternative support for additional training encouraged. This Training Program has existed since 1957, and its long history of training Fellows who subsequently developed into leaders in immunology is compelling testimony to the strength of the program.

National Institute of Health (NIH)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Institutional National Research Service Award (T32)
Project #
Application #
Study Section
Allergy & Clinical Immunology-1 (AITC)
Program Officer
Prograis, Lawrence J
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla
United States
Zip Code
Meehan, T F; Witherden, D A; Kim, C-H et al. (2014) Protection against colitis by CD100-dependent modulation of intraepithelial ?? T lymphocyte function. Mucosal Immunol 7:134-42
Falkowska, Emilia; Le, Khoa M; Ramos, Alejandra et al. (2014) Broadly neutralizing HIV antibodies define a glycan-dependent epitope on the prefusion conformation of gp41 on cleaved envelope trimers. Immunity 40:657-68
Nielsen, Morten M; Lovato, Paola; MacLeod, Amanda S et al. (2014) IL-1?-dependent activation of dendritic epidermal T cells in contact hypersensitivity. J Immunol 192:2975-83
MacLeod, Amanda S; Rudolph, Ross; Corriden, Ross et al. (2014) Skin-resident T cells sense ultraviolet radiation-induced injury and contribute to DNA repair. J Immunol 192:5695-702
Bornholdt, Zachary A; Noda, Takeshi; Abelson, Dafna M et al. (2013) Structural rearrangement of ebola virus VP40 begets multiple functions in the virus life cycle. Cell 154:763-74
Hoerter, John A H; Brzostek, Joanna; Artyomov, Maxim N et al. (2013) Coreceptor affinity for MHC defines peptide specificity requirements for TCR interaction with coagonist peptide-MHC. J Exp Med 210:1807-21
MacLeod, Amanda S; Hemmers, Saskia; Garijo, Olivia et al. (2013) Dendritic epidermal T cells regulate skin antimicrobial barrier function. J Clin Invest 123:4364-74
Bale, Shridhar; Julien, Jean-Philippe; Bornholdt, Zachary A et al. (2013) Ebolavirus VP35 coats the backbone of double-stranded RNA for interferon antagonism. J Virol 87:10385-8
Fu, Guo; Casas, Javier; Rigaud, Stephanie et al. (2013) Themis sets the signal threshold for positive and negative selection in T-cell development. Nature 504:441-5
Choi, Nancy M; Loguercio, Salvatore; Verma-Gaur, Jiyoti et al. (2013) Deep sequencing of the murine IgH repertoire reveals complex regulation of nonrandom V gene rearrangement frequencies. J Immunol 191:2393-402

Showing the most recent 10 out of 55 publications