This training grant will continue to support the training of academic medical surgeon/scientists in basic research into the trauma of muscle and bone, burn injuries, wound healing, and design of limb replacement materials and protocols. This award proposes to train 3-5th year residents in the Department of Surgery, focusing on the section of Plastic Surgery. The trainees will be recruited from national programs as well as from the University of Michigan. This proposed continuation award will be enriched by interaction with the new University of Michigan CTSA Award (Clinical and Translation Science Award). There are sixteen members of the program faculty, from the Department of Surgery, the Dental School, Biomedical Engineering, and The Muscle Physiology consortium at the University of Michigan. The faculty members are Dr. Cynthia L. Marcelo, an epithelial cell biologist and her collaborators, Dr. Steve Feinberg and Dr. Kenji Izumi, both DOS and PhDs. William M. Kuzon is the Section Head of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and is co-director on this application. He works in collaboration with Dr. John A. Faulkner and Dr. Paul S. Cederna, Dr. Melanie Urbanchek, Dr. Dennis Claflin and Dr. Lisa Larkin in the Muscle Mechanics Laboratory Research Consortium. Drs Kuzon, Urbanchek and Marcelo also collaborate with Dr. Michael Franz, a General Surgery, in the area of hernia research. Drs Cederna, Urbanchek and Marcelo and Dr. Steve Goldstein are part of the MURI study on limb reconstruction with Dr. David Martin, a Biomaterials Engineer. Dr. Steven R. Buchman is an NIH funded researcher in the area of cranial facial Trauma, working in collaboration with Dr. Steven A. Goldstein, a very well-known biomedical engineer and the Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering Research, University of Michigan. Dr. Maria Soengas is a member of the Dept of Dermatology and mentor, with Dr. Marcelo, of a trainee who is obtaining his Ph.D. under the auspices of this award. Dr. Riley S. Rees is director of the Wound Center at the University of Michigan and is responsible for a wound healing device start-up company. Over the last 5 years we have had attrition due to faculty leaving the University or department or retiring. These are: Drs. William Dunham, Daniel Remick, David Moody, Robert Gilmont, and David Smith. New mentors are Drs Claflin, Franz, Izumi, Larkin, Martin and Wang. Dr. Maria Soengas joined the program this grant period, but will soon leave to a position in Madrid, Spain. The Grant supports two postdoctoral fellows per year, plus supplies, course work and travel allowances. This grant will continue to support the extensive training of medical doctors to enter research/academic careers.

Public Health Relevance

For American scientist to continue to develop new therapies to treat patients with burns, traumatic injuries such as loss of limbs, and all types of severe wounds, physician scientist need to be trained in these areas of medicine. This award brings together a group of dedicated researchers who are expert scientist who will combine their efforts in at excellent university to train outstanding new physicians (residents) in these areas of healina.

National Institute of Health (NIH)
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Institutional National Research Service Award (T32)
Project #
Application #
Study Section
Special Emphasis Panel (ZGM1-BRT-5 (PD))
Program Officer
Somers, Scott D
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Schools of Medicine
Ann Arbor
United States
Zip Code
Donneys, Alexis; Tchanque-Fossuo, Catherine N; Blough, Jordan T et al. (2014) Amifostine preserves osteocyte number and osteoid formation in fracture healing following radiotherapy. J Oral Maxillofac Surg 72:559-66
Deshpande, Sagar S; Donneys, Alexis; Kang, Stephen Y et al. (2014) Vascular analysis as a proxy for mechanostransduction response in an isogenic, irradiated murine model of mandibular distraction osteogenesis. Microvasc Res 95:143-8
Sugg, Kristoffer B; Lubardic, Jovan; Gumucio, Jonathan P et al. (2014) Changes in macrophage phenotype and induction of epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition genes following acute Achilles tenotomy and repair. J Orthop Res 32:944-51
Donneys, Alexis; Deshpande, Sagar S; Tchanque-Fossuo, Catherine N et al. (2013) Deferoxamine expedites consolidation during mandibular distraction osteogenesis. Bone 55:384-90
Baghmanli, Ziya; Sugg, Kristoffer B; Wei, Benjamin et al. (2013) Biological and electrophysiologic effects of poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) on regenerating peripheral nerve fibers. Plast Reconstr Surg 132:374-85
Donneys, Alexis; Ahsan, Salman; Perosky, Joseph E et al. (2013) Deferoxamine restores callus size, mineralization, and mechanical strength in fracture healing after radiotherapy. Plast Reconstr Surg 131:711e-9e
Donneys, Alexis; Weiss, Daniela M; Deshpande, Sagar S et al. (2013) Localized deferoxamine injection augments vascularity and improves bony union in pathologic fracture healing after radiotherapy. Bone 52:318-25
Pannucci, Christopher J; Wachtman, Christine Fisher; Dreszer, George et al. (2012) The effect of postoperative enoxaparin on risk for reoperative hematoma. Plast Reconstr Surg 129:160-8
Pannucci, Christopher J; Alderman, Amy K; Brown, Sandra L et al. (2012) The effect of abdominal wall plication on intra-abdominal pressure and lower extremity venous flow: a case report. J Plast Reconstr Aesthet Surg 65:392-4
Pannucci, Christopher John; Osborne, Nicholas H; Wahl, Wendy L (2012) Creation and validation of a simple venous thromboembolism risk scoring tool for thermally injured patients: analysis of the National Burn Repository. J Burn Care Res 33:20-5

Showing the most recent 10 out of 28 publications