The Breast Cancer Program was established in 1994 and has been led by Lewis Chodosh, MD, PhD and Angela DeMichele, MD, MSCE since 2005. Members of the Breast Cancer Program are focused on understanding the underlying causes of breast cancer to improve the detection, prevention and treatment of this disease. Program members work to achieve this goal by focusing on four key thematic areas: 1) Elucidation of the molecular mechanisms of breast cancer development and progression;2) Improvements in genetic risk assessment and development of novel prevention strategies;3) Development of novel imaging approaches to improve breast cancer detection and the assessment of therapeutic response;and 4) Translation of laboratory discoveries to novel therapeutics and biomarkers of response/outcome. These scientific goals are accomplished through four thematic groups: Breast Cancer Biology, Cancer Risk Evaluation and Prevention, Breast Imaging, and Therapeutics and Biomarkers. Members are highly interactive, as reflected in their leadership of four collaborative grants, including two NCI UOIs, an NCI U24, and a Department of Defense Breast Cancer Center of Excellence. In addition to facilitating intra- and interprogrammatic collaborations, program leadership has emphasized breast cancer clinical research as a major focus, recruited external faculty who bring important new expertise to the Program, and participated in major ACC retreats that emphasize breast cancer research. The ACC's investment in clinical/clinical research efforts, particularly the Rena Rowan Breast Center, has facilitated patient-oriented research. The Breast Cancer Program consists of 16 faculty members from seven departments in the School of Medicine and School of Arts and Sciences. These members have $8,513,166 in cancer-related grant funding (annual direct costs), of which $7,729,386 is peer-reviewed and $2,510,558 is NCI-funded. During the last funding period, members of the Breast Cancer Program published 390 cancer-related papers, of which 11% were the result of intra-programmatic collaborations and 42% were the result of inter-programmatic collaborations.

National Institute of Health (NIH)
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Center Core Grants (P30)
Project #
Application #
Study Section
Subcommittee G - Education (NCI)
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
University of Pennsylvania
United States
Zip Code
Hinderer, Christian; Katz, Nathan; Buza, Elizabeth L et al. (2018) Severe Toxicity in Nonhuman Primates and Piglets Following High-Dose Intravenous Administration of an Adeno-Associated Virus Vector Expressing Human SMN. Hum Gene Ther 29:285-298
Li, Jinyang; Byrne, Katelyn T; Yan, Fangxue et al. (2018) Tumor Cell-Intrinsic Factors Underlie Heterogeneity of Immune Cell Infiltration and Response to Immunotherapy. Immunity 49:178-193.e7
Raghunathan, Nirupa Jaya; Korenstein, Deborah; Li, Qing S et al. (2018) Determinants of mobile technology use and smartphone application interest in cancer patients. Cancer Med 7:5812-5819
Hordeaux, Juliette; Wang, Qiang; Katz, Nathan et al. (2018) The Neurotropic Properties of AAV-PHP.B Are Limited to C57BL/6J Mice. Mol Ther 26:664-668
Echevarría-Vargas, Ileabett M; Reyes-Uribe, Patricia I; Guterres, Adam N et al. (2018) Co-targeting BET and MEK as salvage therapy for MAPK and checkpoint inhibitor-resistant melanoma. EMBO Mol Med 10:
Torre, Eduardo; Dueck, Hannah; Shaffer, Sydney et al. (2018) Rare Cell Detection by Single-Cell RNA Sequencing as Guided by Single-Molecule RNA FISH. Cell Syst 6:171-179.e5
Vonderheide, Robert H (2018) The Immune Revolution: A Case for Priming, Not Checkpoint. Cancer Cell 33:563-569
Romero, Sally A D; Jones, Lee; Bauml, Joshua M et al. (2018) The association between fatigue and pain symptoms and decreased physical activity after cancer. Support Care Cancer 26:3423-3430
Safo, Sandra E; Li, Shuzhao; Long, Qi (2018) Integrative analysis of transcriptomic and metabolomic data via sparse canonical correlation analysis with incorporation of biological information. Biometrics 74:300-312
Kall, Stefanie L; Delikatny, Edward J; Lavie, Arnon (2018) Identification of a Unique Inhibitor-Binding Site on Choline Kinase ?. Biochemistry 57:1316-1325

Showing the most recent 10 out of 1047 publications