Nevada is the fastest-growing state in the nation. In 1986, a T32 grant to the University of Nevada, Reno provided two stipends for cancer research training within the new Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) Graduate Program. Nevada's first biomedical training grant now supports four trainees per year, about 16% of the CMB predoctoral students. Dorothy Hudig, Ph.D., Professor of Immunology, directs the cancer research training program. There are 3 major changes in this competitive renewal. (1) Predoctoral training includes opportunities to participate in the NIH Graduate Partners Program. (2) With NCI program approval, a 5 year phase-in plan will add postdoctoral cancer research training and result in 25% predoctoral trainees (2 pre, 6 post) by the next competitive renewal. (3) The program has established an extramural Advisory Committee for Postdoctoral Career Development, to make Nevada a site to develop approaches for successful career advancement. Graduate students are selected for T32 support after advancement to candidacy; their cancer research training includes a Cell and Molecular Biology of Cancer Course, cancer research seminars and journal clubs, exposure to oncology patients, and cancer-related thesis research. Seventeen students were supported by the last award; 13 graduates and 4 continuing students. They published 38 papers. The twelve T32 faculty sponsors are in 5 departments within 4 administrative units and have 29 extramural competitive grants, with an average of $297,000 annual direct costs per sponsor. Many of the postdoctoral trainees will enter with appointments promotable to research professors and will be helped to obtain the independent funding needed to develop their careers. Their training includes community-based cancer research training, such as attendance of tumor board presentations and an oncology journal club with the residents in internal medicine; training in job-related skills such as personnel management; and private career counseling. ? ?

National Institute of Health (NIH)
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Institutional National Research Service Award (T32)
Project #
Application #
Study Section
Subcommittee G - Education (NCI)
Program Officer
Damico, Mark W
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
University of Nevada Reno
Schools of Medicine
United States
Zip Code
Buxton, Iain L O; Yokdang, Nucharee; Matz, Robert M (2010) Purinergic mechanisms in breast cancer support intravasation, extravasation and angiogenesis. Cancer Lett 291:131-41
Tamang, David L; Alves, Bryce N; Elliott, Viki et al. (2009) Regulation of perforin lysis: implications for protein disulfide isomerase proteins. Cell Immunol 255:82-92
Yokdang, Nucharee; Buxton, Noah D; Buxton, Iain L O (2009) Measurement of human breast tumor cell-secreted shNDPK-B in a murine breast cancer model suggests its role in metastatic progression. Proc West Pharmacol Soc 52:88-91
Park, Paul J; Colletti, Evan; Ozturk, Ferhat et al. (2009) Factors determining the risk of inadvertent retroviral transduction of male germ cells after in utero gene transfer in sheep. Hum Gene Ther 20:201-15
Rumjahn, S M; Yokdang, N; Baldwin, K A et al. (2009) Purinergic regulation of vascular endothelial growth factor signaling in angiogenesis. Br J Cancer 100:1465-70
Rumjahn, Sharif M; Baldwin, Karla A; Buxton, Iain L O (2007) P2y receptor-mediated angiogenesis via vascular endothelial growth factor receptor 2 signaling. Proc West Pharmacol Soc 50:58-60
Tamang, David L; Redelman, Doug; Alves, Bryce N et al. (2006) Induction of granzyme B and T cell cytotoxic capacity by IL-2 or IL-15 without antigens: multiclonal responses that are extremely lytic if triggered and short-lived after cytokine withdrawal. Cytokine 36:148-59
Barao, Isabel; Hanash, Alan M; Hallett, William et al. (2006) Suppression of natural killer cell-mediated bone marrow cell rejection by CD4+CD25+ regulatory T cells. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 103:5460-5
Kam, Chih-Min; Gotz, Marion G; Koot, Gretchen et al. (2004) Design and evaluation of inhibitors for dipeptidyl peptidase I (Cathepsin C). Arch Biochem Biophys 427:123-34
Tichenor, Stephen D; Malmquist, Nicholas A; Buxton, Iain L O (2003) Dissociation of cGMP accumulation and relaxation in myometrial smooth muscle: effects of S-nitroso-N-acetylpenicillamine and 3-morpholinosyndonimine. Cell Signal 15:763-72

Showing the most recent 10 out of 32 publications