This award provides student travel and subsistence for the 2014 Oregon Programming Languages Summer School (OPLSS). This summer school provides an important and valuable educational opportunity for students to study theoretical topics related to programming languages and methods/verification. The focus of this year's school is "Types, Logics, Semantics, and Verification". The students who attend are from a large number of countries. The NSF support ensures participation of US students while paying attention to underrepresented groups. The broader impacts include building international community and cooperation in foundational research areas, and enhancing education of students with exposure to and interaction with leading-edge research and researchers.

Project Report

The Oregon Programming Languages Summer School (OPLSS) is a long-running and successful venue for disseminating cutting-edge ideas in the theory and practice of programming languages, formal verification, security, and related technologies --- topics of critical importance in the intellectual mainstream of CS research.The school's main goal is the training of PhD students. In particular, those who come from institutions lacking strong graduate curricula in the topics addressed by the school.The number of participants is growing each year. In 2014 we had 105 students coming from10 countries. We were also able to attract people from the industry, and we had a substantial number of female students. Participants Statistics: Total participants 105 Total Phd 75 Total MS 7 Total Undergrad 10 Total Professor 2 Total Post-doc 2 Total Industry 9 Male 91 Female 14 Domestic 59 Canadian 7 Other Foreign 39 (10 countries) NSF Funding The following participants received $825 to cover the cost of housing for the summer school: Ryan Beckett (Princeton University) Qinxiang Cao (Princeton University) James Wilcox (University of Washington) The following participants received $875 to cover the cost of housing for the boot camp and the summer school: Andrew Hirsch (Cornell University) Deyaaeldeen Almahallawi (Indiana University Bloomington) Santiago Cuellar (Princeton University) Seyed Mohammad Nikouei (Stevens Institute of Technology) Nicholas Dzugan (University of Alabama at Birmingham) Kristopher Micinski (University of Maryland, College Park) Phúc Nguy?n (University of Maryland, College Park) Dan DaCosta (University of Minnesota) Junkil Park (University of Pennsylvania) Wenrui Meng (University of Pennsylvania) Frederico Araujo (University of Texas at Dallas) Benjamin Ferrell (University of Texas at Dallas) Hannah Gommerstadt (Carnegie Mellon University) Ayelet Zaidenberg (Wesleyan University) The following students received $137.50 toward registration: Andrew Hirsch (Cornell University) Kristopher Micinski (University of Maryland, College Park)

National Science Foundation (NSF)
Division of Computer and Communication Foundations (CCF)
Standard Grant (Standard)
Application #
Program Officer
Anindya Banerjee
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
University of Oregon Eugene
United States
Zip Code