This award is funded by the Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) and Chemical Instrumentation (CRIF) programs. Professor Jon Njardarson from University of Arizona and colleagues Wei Wang, Jeffrey Pyun, Douglas Loy and Elisa Tomat have acquired a 500 MHz NMR spectrometer. In general, NMR spectroscopy is one of the basic tools available to chemists for the elucidation of the structure of molecules. It is used to identify unknown substances, to characterize specific arrangements of atoms within molecules, and to study the dynamics of interactions between molecules in solution. Access to state-of-the-art NMR spectrometers is an essential tool for chemists who are carrying out frontier research. A typical use by a chemist is to analyze the mixture from a reaction to determine the products. For example investigations to improve materials used in battery electrodes to increase their efficiency will involve following the products by varying the starting materials in a chemical reaction. The spectrometer is used in laboratory courses to train undergraduate students in this powerful tool. A sizable cohort are from underrepresented and underserved groups.

The award is aimed at enhancing research and education at all levels. A variety of research projects are being investigated. One project explores new synthetic methods used to prepare natural products. Another investigation probes the engineering of ligand-based redox chemistry in metal complexes of linear oligopyrroles. Sustainable polymer chemistry through utilization of waste sulfur to afford a new class of sulfur-based polymers is being studied. Metallopolymer electrocatalysts for hydrogen production are the focus of an investigation. Pioneering investigations to construct nano-engineered, hybrid organic-inorganic materials based on organically bridged polysilsesquioxanes is a current on-going study.

This award reflects NSF's statutory mission and has been deemed worthy of support through evaluation using the Foundation's intellectual merit and broader impacts review criteria.

National Science Foundation (NSF)
Division of Chemistry (CHE)
Standard Grant (Standard)
Application #
Program Officer
Rebecca Peebles
Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
University of Arizona
United States
Zip Code