This travel grant supports students who are near graduation, or have recently graduated, to take part in a doctoral consortium at the 2011 IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR). The doctoral consortium highlights the work of these up and coming researchers, and pairs each student with a senior member of the computer vision community who serves as their mentor. The mentorship process provides each student with valuable feedback on their research, as well as meaningful career advice as the students move on to the next phase of their professional development. The doctoral consortium event aims to have representation from a diverse group of participants (in terms of gender, ethnic background, academic institution and geographic location). The travel grant ensures participation from a broad range of institutions across the country and gives visibility to a diverse population of students.

Project Report

The goal of the CVPR 2011 Doctoral Consortium (DC) was to highlight the work of students who are close to finishing (or have very recently finished) their doctorate degree, and to arrange explicitly for the students to receive constructive feedback from senior members of the computer vision community on the work. The first component of the Consortium consisted of a poster presentation given on the day before the main conference program began by students who qualified. The second component consisted of one-on-one feedback and discussion of the project between each student and a senior member of the community who was designated as a mentor for that particular student. For the past two years, with NSF’s generous support, a Doctoral Consortium event has been held at CVPR. CVPR 2011’s DC event built on the success of previous years. 20 students from U.S. institutions attended the DC event. Each of these students received a travel grant funded by NSF. 20 outstanding researchers from across the globe served as mentor volunteers at the event. Twelve mentors came from academia, while eight came from industry, facilitating individually tailored advice for the students based on their career goals. The NSF travel funds were used to support the following students to attend CVPR 2011: 1.William Brendel, Oregon State University 2. Yu Cao, University of South Carolina 3. Ryan Connaughton, University of Notre Dame 4. Thang Dinh, University of Southern California 5. Carolina Galleguillos, University of California, San Diego 6. Josh Harguess, The University of Texas 7. Junzhou Huang, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey 8. Anne Jorstad, University of Maryland 9. Eunyoung Kim, University of Southern California 10. Yong Jae Lee, The University of Texas 11. Feng Li, University of Delaware 12. Miao Liao, University of Kentucky 13. Dingding Liu, University of Washington 14. Minh Hoai Nguyen, Carnegie Mellon University 15. Alexandros Panagopoulos, Stony Brook University 16. Nadia Payet, Oregon State University 17. Nitesh Shroff, University of Maryland 18. Ashwin Thangali, Boston University 19. Yun Zeng, Stony Brook University 20. Yimeng Zhang, Cornell University The 2011 DC event was a resounding success, and we are scheduling another edition for CVPR 2012 that will follow the same format.

Project Start
Project End
Budget Start
Budget End
Support Year
Fiscal Year
Total Cost
Indirect Cost
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs
United States
Zip Code